HowIRound logo.png
Dublin City Council

In partnership with Culture Ireland, Dance Ireland, Project Arts Centre, Dance Limerick, Irish Arts Center, New York, Centre Culturel Irlandais, Paris

Dancer from the Dance Festival of Irish Choreography

An ONLINE Dance Celebration of 32 Irish Choreographers from Ireland and the USA who cross national borders, practices, ethnicities and generations, curated by John Scott

Incidental Music: 'Concrete Rain' composed by Michael Scott

June 29th – July 3rd 2020 - All Events Free or Donation
  • Festival Launch & Public Talk: How the Body Carries Stories
    Arts Council Director Maureen Kennelly, will launch Dancer from the Dance: Festival of Irish choreography tomorrow evening at 5pm, followed by our first event: How the Body Carries Stories. Michael Seaver (Moderator), Morgan Bullock, Siobhan Burke, Louise Costelloe, Sibéal Davitt, Rachael Gilkey, Fearghus Ó Conchúir, Seona MacReamoinn, Tobi Omoteso, Linda Murray, Laurie Uprichard. MORE INFO >>
    JOIN THE ZOOM MEETING >>

     

  • 3 Programmes of dance performances and films by 32 Choreographers: 30 JUNE | 1JULY | 2 JULY
    Muirne Bloomer & Emma O’Kane (Ire), David Bolger/CoisCéim Dance Theatre (Ire), Morgan Bullock (USA), Darrah Carr/Darrah Carr Dance Co (USA), Seán Curran/Seán Curran Co (USA), Sibéal Davitt (Ire), Junk Ensemble (Ire), Oona Doherty (NI), Justine Doswell (Ire), Jeanine Durning (USA), Nic Gareiss (USA), Deirdre Griffin (Ire), Lucia Kickham (Ire), Laura Macken (Ire), Aoife McAtamney (Ire), Eileen McClory/Off the Rails Dance Co (NI), Laura Murphy (Ire),  Ingrid Naschtern (Ire), Isabella Oberlander (Ire), Fearghus Ó Conchúir & Sarah Browne (Ire), Ruairí Ó’Donnabháin (Ire), Tobi Omoteso (Ire), Alex O’Neill (Ire), Ryan O’Neill/Maiden Voyage Dance Co (NI), Liam O’Scanláin (Ire), Fiona Quilligan (Ire), John Scott /Irish Modern Dance Theatre (Ire), Áine Stapleton (Ire), Mary Wycherley (Ire), Mufutau Yusuf (Ire)

 

 

  • Céilí with live music

Streamed on Facebook live and YouTube live

Dancer from the Dance is a five-day festival of Irish choreography showcasing established and emerging Irish choreographers from Ireland and the Irish diaspora. The festival was launched at 92nd Street Y in New York in April 2019 in collaboration with Irish Arts Center, guests curated by John Scott, Artistic Director of Irish Modern Dance Theatre and supported by Culture Ireland.

 

Dancer from the Dance 2020, curated by John Scott, is  proudly funded by the Arts Council of Ireland, Dublin City Council, Culture Ireland, Dance Ireland and supported by Project Arts Centre, Dance Limerick, Irish Arts Center, New York, Centre Culturel Irlandais, Paris, HowIround and Newstalk.

Special thanks to Friends of Irish Modern Dance Theatre: President Maureen McSherry. Board: Paul Langland, Aran Maree, John Scott, Carleigh Welsh.

Schedule of Activities
Monday 29 June

Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Cheryl Therrien 10am IST/11am CET/5am EST

Live Zoom Sean-nós Beginners Workshop with Liam O' Scanlán 3pm IST/10am EST

Live festival Launch followed by Panel Discussion with Michael Seaver (moderator) 5pm IST/12pm EST - Join the Meeting >>

Tuesday 30 June 

Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Ashley Chen10am IST/11am CET/5am EST

Live Zoom Workshop with Peggy Gould 5pm IST/6pm CET/12pm EST

Livestreamed Dance Performance | Programme 1 7:30pm IST/8:30pm CET/2:30pm EST

Live post-performance talkback 8:30pm IST/9:30pm CET/3:30pm EST
First night cocktail party hosted by Irish Arts Center 9:30pm IST/10:30 CET/4:30pm EST

Wednesday 1 July 

Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Cheryl Therrien 10am IST/11am CET/5am EST

Live Zoom Workshop with Faye Driscoll 5pm IST/6pm CET/12pm EST

Livestreamed Dance Performance | Programme 2 7:30pm IST/8:30pm CET/2:30pm EST

Live post-performance talkback 8:30pm IST/9:30pm CET/3:30pm EST

Thursday 2 July

Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Ashley Chen 10am IST/11am CET/5am EST

Live Zoom Workshop with Gesel Mason 3pm IST/4pm CET10pm EST

Livestreamed Film Screenings 7:30pm IST/8:30pm CET/2:30pm EST

Live post-performance talkback 8:30pm IST/9:30pm CET/3:30pm EST

Friday 3 July

Live Zoom Cunningham Masterclass with Cheryl Therrien 10am IST/11am CET/5am EST

Live Zoom Youth Dance Workshop Rachel Sheil 5pm IST/6pm CET/12pm EST

Merce Cunningham Programme 7:30pm IST/8:30pm CET/2:30pm EST

Live Céilí 8:30pm IST/9:30pm CET/3:30pm EST

FESTIVAL CREDITS
Curator: John Scott, Artistic Director, Irish Modern Dance Theatre
Company Manager: Greta Bourke
Video/Editing: Luca Truffarelli
Production Manager: Conleth Stanley
Web Manager: Chris Ignacio

Web Platform: Howlround
Social Media Manager: May Day Creates
PR: Conleth Teevan
Poster/Flyer Design: Mark Shiels
Video Promo: Aideen Gohery

Photography by Michael Quinn

All Events Free or Donation

Scan or click below  

to make a donation

QR DFTD.png

© 2018 John Scott Dance | Irish Modern Dance Theatre

Multimedia Building, Curved Street, Temple Bar

Dublin D02 PC43

Tel: +353 1 671 5113

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo