Dublin City Council

In partnership with Culture Ireland, Dance Ireland, Project Arts Centre, Dance Limerick, Irish Arts Center, New York, Centre Culturel Irlandais, Paris

DANCER from the DANCE: Merce Cunningham Programme
Friday 3 July7:30pm IST/8:30pm CET/2:30pm EST

Followed by a Céilí with live music* | 8:30pm IST/9:30pm CET/3:30pm EST

 

Incidental Music: 'Concrete Rain' composed by Michael Scott
 

* Please note the Céilí will open in a new stream which can be readily accessed on the You Tube or Facebook  homepages.

MERCE CUNNINGHAM PROGRAMME - 7:30pm IST/8:30pm CET/2:30pm EST
TOTEM ANCESTOR (3mins)

Choreography: Merce Cunningham 

Music: John Cage

Dancer: Ashley Chen

Produced by: Irish Modern Dance Theatre

 

Totem Ancestor, a solo piece made and performed by Merce Cunningham in 1942 , was originally created as an addition to a joint concert including Cunningham and two fellow members of the Graham Company, Jean Erdman and Nina Fonaroff. This brief solo by Cunningham was performed on a diagonal line, as he traveled the stage leaping from kneeling and crouched positions. Cage wrote the music once the dance had been completed, and costume design was by Charlotte Trowbridge: a black leotard with staggered grey stripes.

 

Screening of Irish Modern Dance Theatre performance of Totem Ancestor, danced by Ashley Chen. and recorded at the Abbey's Peacock Theatre February 1, 2014.

Interview with John Scott (24m)

Patricia Lent, Merce Cunningham Trust's director of licensing, speaks with John Scott, artistic director of Irish Modern Dance Theatre, about his company's productions of Night Wandering and Totem Ancestor.

 

Showing of Mondays with Merce (Roaratorio) (19m)

Interviews with Merce Cunningham during his final years, his dancers collaborators past and present, and imagery from the Cunningham Archive in these mini-docs that Merce called, "Mondays with Me."

In this particular one, Merce discusses revivals. Guests include stager Patricia Lent, designer Mark Lancaster and Neil Greenberg, who danced in the original. Includes excerpts of the revival premiere.

CÉILÍ 8:30pm IST/9:30pm CET/3:30pm EST
Hosted by
Liam Ó Scanláin (dancer, choreographer)
Siobhan O'Malley (cultural consultant, producer)

ACT 1
Stephen Doherty and Tom Doherty and dancers

ACT 2
Clann Uí Mhaolagáin

ACT 3
Caitlín Nic Gabhann and Ciarán Ó Maonaigh

All Events Free or Donation

Scan or click below  

to make a donation

QR DFTD.png

© 2018 John Scott Dance | Irish Modern Dance Theatre

Multimedia Building, Curved Street, Temple Bar

Dublin D02 PC43

Tel: +353 1 671 5113

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • YouTube
  • Vimeo